Parish History

Welcome! Holy Spirit Parish is made up of four church communities in Lower Hutt – Petone, Waiwhetu, Wainuiomata and Eastbourne.

On 1st February 2015 the Parish of the Holy Spirit, Te Wairua Tapu, began a new chapter in the church history.  It was formed by amalgamating four parishes: San Antonio Eastbourne, Our Lady of the Rosary Waiwhetu, Sacred Heart Petone and St. Patrick Wainuiomata.

John Cardinal Dew, Archbishop of Wellington appointed Rev. Marlon Peter Maylon, SVD as our first Parish Priest. Assisting Fr Marlon are Msgr. Charles Cooper, Rev. Michael Stieller and Rev. John Quang Phan, SVD who is also our schools’ chaplain.

Our parish is multicultural and has embraced the new change with an openness of mind and positive attitude. Adopting the Archdiocesan model of “Stewardship” as its vision in parish leadership. Called, Gifted, Sent Forth.